Related Collections:

• Prints & engravings of Hart Hall, Magdalen Hall and Hertford College are held in Hertford College Archives [HC-DPE]

• A large collection of images relating to of Magdalen Hall and Hertford College can be found on Oxfordshire History Centre’s Picture Oxon website: https://pictureoxon.com/index.php

• The libraries of the old Hertford College and Magdalen Hall are held by Hertford College and are currently being catalogued. Further information can be found here: https://www.hertford.ox.ac.uk/and-more/rarebooks-archives/rare-books

• Hertford College has a small manuscript collection which is kept in the Weston Library in Oxford. Some of these are catalogued in Coxe, H. O. Catalogus Codicum Mss. Qui in Collegiis Aulisque Oxoniensibus Hodie Adservantur, 1852., vol 2; and a handwritten list is available from Hertford College Library.

• Portraits of College Principals can be viewed on the ArtUK website at https://artuk.org/

• Oxford University Archives holds records relating to Hart Hall 1610-1823, including 17th century members’ lists and records relating to Magdalen Hall from 1610-1881 including members, property & estates, the transfer of Old Hertford College property to Magdalen Hall & the transition to Hertford College. See the OUA Lower Archive Room Index at https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/oua/holdings/records-in-the-lower-archive-room/lower-archive-room-index

• Exeter College Archives holds title deeds relating to Hart Hall and Arthur Hall (1257-1593) and transcripts of early charters and documents and records relating to the dispute between Exeter College and Dr Newton over the independence of Hart Hall (1723-1725), contact archives@exeter.ox.ac.uk for further information

• Magdalen College Archives does not hold records of members of Magdalen Hall, but does hold some records of transactions and disputes between the two institutions, together with a number of prints and engravings. Further information about the relationship between Magdalen Hall and Magdalen College can be found here: https://www.magd.ox.ac.uk/libraries-and-archives/archives/magdalen-hall/• Further related material can be found through Oxfordshire History Centre’s online catalogues at https://www.oxfordshire.gov.uk/residents/leisure-and-culture/history/oxfordshire-history-centre; & through the National Archives’ Discovery site: https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

General reading on Hertford College & its predecessors

Goudie, Andrew, et al. Seven Hundred Years of an Oxford College (Hertford College, 1284-1984), 1992.

Hamilton, S. G. Hertford College,1903.

Foster, Joseph. Oxford Men and Their Colleges, 1880-1892, Illustrated with Portraits and Views, 1893.

Salter, H.E. 'Hertford College', in The Victoria History of the Counties of England, Oxford, 1954, v 3, pp 309-319; available from British History Online.

Lawes, Adrian. Report on the Muniments of Hertford College, Oxford, 18th-20th Century, Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts, 1985

Hart Hall & Old Hertford College

Maddicott, John Robert. Founders and Fellowship: the Early History of Exeter College, Oxford, 1314-1592, 2014.

Saul, Nigel. 'Hart Hall - the Early Centuries', Hertford College Magazine, 1979, p 10.

Saul, Nigel. 'Elias de Hertford: Founder or Speculator', in Goudie, A, Seven Hundred Years of an Oxford College (Hertford College, 1284-1984), 1999, pp 8-9.

Saul, Nigel. 'The Pre-History of an Oxford College: Hart Hall and its Neighbours in the Middle Ages’, Oxoniensia, v 54, pp 347-343.

Barnard, Toby. Introduction to facsimile copy of Newton's Rules & Statutes.

Magdalen Hall

Brockliss, L. W. B. Magdalen College Oxford : a History, 2008.

Printed sources for Alumni History

Emden, A. B. A Biographical Register of the University of Oxford to A.D. 1500, 1957.

Emden, A. B. A Biographical Register of the University of Oxford, A.D. 1501 to 1540, 1974.

Foster, Joseph. Alumni Oxonienses 1500-1714, 1891-2

Foster, Joseph. Alumni Oxonienses 1715-1886, 1891-2

Foster, Joseph. Oxford Men and Their Colleges, 1880-1892, Illustrated with Portraits and Views, 1893.

• A more detailed guide to researching past members of the University, including links to digitised versions of Foster’s Alumni Oxonienses, can be found on the Oxford University Archives website at https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/oua/enquiries/members-guide

General Reading on the history of Oxford University

Aston, T. H., et al. The History of the University of Oxford, 1984.

Brockliss, L. W. B. The University of Oxford: a History, 2016.

Hibbert, Christopher, & Hibbert, Edward. The Encyclopaedia of Oxford, 1988.

Pantin, W.A. Oxford Life in Oxford Archives, 1972.